The Psychological Society of Ireland (PSI) is governed by its Council, which is composed of elected and co-opted members of the Society.

The election process is governed by the PSI Memorandums and Articles of Association, which clearly state the terms of office and the process of election.


The key role of the PSI Council is to identify and direct policy of the PSI and to represent its members.


The responsibilities of the Council include:

  • To collectively represent members and to act in the best interest of the members;
  • To ensure good governance and to adhere to current legislative and financial obligations under the Companies Acts;
  • To develop and maintain policies in relation to psychologists in Ireland;
  • To further the aims and objectives of the Society in-keeping with the Memorandums and Articles and the PSI Strategic Plan;
  • To hold regular meetings and to act as the strategic decision-making body for the Society.


To contact the PSI President please email 


Council Members 2021


President Dr Megan Gaffney
President-Elect Dr Vincent Mc Darby
Past President Mr Mark Smyth 
Honorary Secretary Dr Andrew Kennedy
Membership Secretary  Dr Dean McDonnell
Ordinary Members

Mr Aidan Corr

Dr Michael Drumm

Dr Mitchel Fleming

Dr Olivia Hurley

Dr Anne Kehoe

Dr Odhrán McCarthy

Dr Ger McNamara

Ms Laura Neme

Ms Gillian O'Brien

Dr Katarina Timulakova

Co-opted members

Amanda Dunne

Evan Hunt

Ian O'Grady