The Psychological Society of Ireland (PSI) is governed by its Council, which is composed of elected and co-opted members of the Society.

The election process is governed by the PSI Memorandums and Articles of Association, which clearly state the terms of office and the process of election.


Role of Council:

The key role of the PSI Council is to identify and direct policy of the PSI and to represent its members.


The responsibilities of the Council include:

  • To collectively represent members and to act in the best interest of the members;
  • To ensure good governance and to adhere to current legislative and financial obligations under the Companies Acts;
  • To develop and maintain policies in relation to psychologists in Ireland;
  • To further the aims and objectives of the Society in-keeping with the Memorandums and Articles and the PSI Strategic Plan;
  • To hold regular meetings and to act as the strategic decision-making body for the Society.


To contact the PSI President please email 


Council Members 2020


President Mark Smyth
Past President Ian O'Grady
President Elect Dr Megan Gaffney
Honorary Secretary Dr Vincent Mc Darby
Honorary Treasurer Dr Michael Stoker
Membership Secretary  Dr Dean McDonnell
Ordinary Members

Dr Maria Dempsey

Dr Mitchel Fleming

Dr Katarina Timulakova

Kathleen Halligan

Dr Andrew Kennedy

Laura Neme

Dr Ger McNamara

Dr Michael Drumm

Dr Olivia Hurley

Dr Odhrán McCarthy

Dr Anne Kehoe

Aidan Corr (Co-opted)

Gillian O'Brien (Co-opted)

Evan Hunt (SAG/EGG Rep)