Special Interest Group in Autism


The SIG is open to all members of the PSI.

If you are not currently a PSI member, join us here

The SIG is always interested in new members joining and adding to the group, as well as establishing links to further enhance the basis of professional psychological knowledge in the area of Autism.

If you are interested in joining the SIG, please apply online below. 

As our application form is a standard form for all groups, please ignore fields that do not apply to your group. You do not have to fill in Training and Experience field; ignore the upload section and special directory tick box also. 

If you are already a PSI member but would like to join this group, please log in to the members' Dashboard area. 

By becoming a member of the SIG you are added to our group mailing list. Information and queries are circulated to members regularly, so information and knowledge are shared.


Got a question? Email us at this address: autism@psychologicalsociety.ie

Find us on social media:

Facebook - @PSIAutismSIG 

Twitter - @PSIAutismSIG 


Who we are: Aims and Objectives

The Special Interest Group in Autism (SIGA) promotes research related to autism and awareness of the needs of Autistic individuals, their families and carers.


The SIG (previously the SIG in Autism Spectrum Disorder) was founded in November 2001.

Past Projects

Completion of Best Practice Guidelines for Autism (2010 - see downloads section)

Supporting PSI response to HSE Draft Autism Protocol

Supporting PSI response to HSE Autism Services Review


Ongoing Work

Updating of Best Practice Guidelines for Autism - Coming in Spring 2021

Autism Assessments

Psychological assessments for Autism should be comprehensive and person-centred. Assessments take time to carry out, for both young people and adults, exploring a person's developmental history, strengths, needs, social interaction style, and presenting behavioural and/or sensory issues. Psychology is not currently regulated in the Republic of Ireland. CORU will regulate the profession in the future, however the current time frame for this is unknown.

For those seeking an Autism assessment, it is recommended to speak to a professional who is a Chartered Psychologist with PSI or BPS, to ensure you are confident in his/her experience, expertise, qualifications and competencies. Whilst there is currently no statutory regulation of psychologists under Irish law, all psychologists who have designated chartered status with PSI or BPS are bound by ethical and governance standards of their respective professional body.






Ruth Connolly


Clinical Psychologist

Ailish Mooney


Clinical Psychologist

Jacinta McComish


Counselling Psychologist

Barry Murphy

Membership Secretary

Apply Online

To join this group you need to be a member of the PSI.
If you are a member please log in.
If you are not a member our join us page is here